CCWS Working Group

The CCWS Working Group meets biannually and is a forum for discussing the challenges of policy and program implementation and resolving those challenges. Members include a broad range of system- and community-based sectors working effectively in a solutions-based model.

By creating the opportunity for discussion and analysis across disciplines and agencies, Working Group meetings provide a forum for actively resolving systemic issues. Recommendations and strategies developed by the Working Group are brought forward through the various sectors represented at the table, including relevant federal and provincial government ministries, police/RCMP and provincial non-profit organizations.

Working Group members also provide technical expertise regarding regional or local practice and legal or policy-related questions. This information is used by CCWS staff to help communities or regions effectively resolve local or regional issues.

Current Working Group Members:

  • C/Supt. Dave Attfield, Deputy Criminal Operations Officer, Core Policing, RCMP “E” Division
  • Mike Aube, Senior Policy Analyst, Community Safety and Crime Prevention Branch, Ministry of Public Safety and Solicitor General
  • Morgen Baldwin, Regional Coordinator, Community Coordination for Women’s Safety
  • Thea Bracewell, Policy Analyst, Settlement and Integration Policy (SIP), Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada, Government of Canada
  • Supt. John Brewer, Officer In Charge, Enhanced Community and Aboriginal Policing – Criminal Operations – Core Policing, “E” Division
  • Rosalind Currie, Director, Community Programs Unit, Community Safety and Crime Prevention Branch, Ministry of Public Safety and Solicitor General
  • Sgt. Mike Darling, Regional Domestic Violence Unit, Victoria Police Department
  • Chastity Davis, Chair, Minister’s Advisory Council on Indigenous Women
  • Natalie Dunbar, Legal Analyst, Community Coordination for Women’s Safety, Ending Violence Association of BC
  • Inspector Alanna Dunlop, Officer in Charge, “E” Division Crime Prevention and Support Services
  • Charlene Eden, Regional Coordinator, Community Coordination for Women’s Safety
  • Mavis Erickson, Wagstaffe Law Corporation, Former Highway of Tears Coordinator, Carrier Sekani Family Services
  • Amy FitzGerald, Executive Director, BC Society of Transition Houses
  • Debbie Granger, Crown Counsel, BC Prosecution Service, Criminal Appeals & Special Prosecutions, Ministry of Attorney General
  • Isabelle Groc, Project Coordinator, Inform’Elles
  • Dr. Margaret Jackson, Director, SFU’s FREDA Centre for Research on Violence Against Women
  • Lynett Jung, Deputy Director, Legal Resources, Learning and Development, BC Prosecution Service
  • Ninu Kang, Director, Communications and Development, Multilingual Orientation Services Association for Immigrant Communities (MOSAIC)
  • Shannan Knutson, Family Policy, Legislation, and Transformation, Justice Services Branch, Ministry of Attorney General
  • Jason Laidman, Deputy Chief Operations, Victoria Police Department; and Representative for the BC Association of Municipal Chiefs of Police
  • Michael Larocque, Policy and Program Analyst, Strategic Operations Division, Corrections Branch, Ministry of Public Safety and Solicitor General
  • Barbara Lazcano, Program Officer, Women’s Program and Regional Operations Directorate – Western, NWT and Yukon Region, Status of Women Canada, Government of Canada
  • Kamaljit Lehal, Lawyer, Lehal & Co, Barristers and Solicitors
  • Terry Lejko, Director of Practice, Coast/Northshore, Ministry of Children and Family Development
  • Karen Martin, Disability Alliance BC (formerly BCCPD)
  • The Honourable Donna Martinson, retired judge of the B.C. Supreme Court
  • Branka Matijasic, Manager, Intake and Referral Services, Legal Services Society
  • Lori Moen, Coroner, BC Coroners Service, Ministry of Public Safety and Solicitor General
  • Marcie Moriarty, Chief Prevention and Enforcement Officer, BCSPCA
  • Gus Papagiannis, NCO i/c Support Services, “E” Division Crime Prevention Services, Peer to Peer Advisor, R2MR Facilitator
  • Ann Pederson, Director in Population Health Promotion, BC Women’s Hospital & Health Centre; and Acting Executive Director, Perinatal Services BC, Provincial Health Services Authority
  • Tracy Porteous, Executive Director, Ending Violence Association of British Columbia
  • Geoffrey Rankin, Director of Policy, BC Association of Aboriginal Friendship Centres
  • Nancy Regular, Regional Coordinator, Community Coordination for Women’s Safety
  • Sarah Rehimi, Policy Analyst, Community Safety and Crime Prevention Branch, Ministry of Public Safety and Solicitor General
  • Inspector Dawn Richards, Special Investigation Section, Vancouver Police Department
  • Amarjit Sahota, Director of Practice, South Fraser, Ministry of Children and Family Development
  • Sairoz Sekhon, Manager of Women’s Transition Housing and Supports Program, BC Housing
  • Jewelles Smith, Chairperson, Council of Canadians with Disabilities (CCD); Advisor, National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS)
  • Karen Spears, Manager of Service Delivery, Local Office Services & Outreach, Service Delivery Division, Ministry of Social Development and Poverty Reduction
  • Lorinda Stoneman, Director, Policy, Community Safety & Crime Prevention Branch, Ministry of Public Safety and Solicitor General
  • Dawn Thomas, Deputy Representative, Office of the Representative for Children and Ayouth
  • Diane Turner, Lawyer, Kelliher and Turner
  • Liz Vick, Director of Provincial Initiatives, The John Howard Society of the Lower Mainland of BC
  • Glenys Webster, Director, Women’s, Maternal and Early Childhood Health, Public Health Services Branch, Population and Public Health Division, BC Ministry of Health
  • Caroline White, Program Director, Centre for Counselling and Community Safety, Justice Institute of BC
  • Sgt. Benedikte Wilkinson, Domestic Violence and Elder Abuse Unit, Vancouver Police Department
  • Kristi Yuris, Regional Coordinator, Community Coordination for Women’s Safety